DYI Zune Dock

I am only aware of two Zune docks available from Microsoft; The round dock designed for the 1st generation Zunes and the rectangular dock for the 2nd generation devices. Both docks have IR receivers for use with Zune wireless remotes and Audio/Video jacks, and there’s no other docks available just for charging or syncing. Some 3rd-party vendors offer Zune docks that act as speaker amplifiers, but they seem to be bulky and too expensive for my wallet. I just want a simple dock that I can use to support my Zune upright during syncing and charging (much like the docks for a Pocket PC device).

Over at the Instructables.com web site, I noticed several people constructing docks for their iPod Nano devices using common household items such as:

  • Old clock radios
  • The plastic box that the iPod Nano came in
  • Lego blocks
  • Cardboard and duct tape
  • A toy car
  • A tennis ball and nails

It reminded me of those “Case Modders” who make functional computers out of toasters, football helmets, you name it. So that got me thinking– I wanted a simple dock for my Zune which basically is a heavy block with a zune connector protruding from the top of it. I don’t care about the A/V jack, as I just want something for charging and syncing. Since I use to build plastic models as a kid, I know how to work with plastics and bondo filler and I have good spray painting techniques. So this should be a piece of cake! What would be nice is finding an old small appliance, car part, etc. that I could use as a base and have a real retro-look. Otherwise, I could visit Home Depot and buy some PVC piping (to make a round dock) or some other box-like supply to make the dock base. One thing for sure, I don’t want some crappy duct tape box sitting on my desk acting as a Zune dock!

I’ll have to keep my eye out for something suitable for the dock base (it really could be anything). If and when I do build something, I’ll certainly post some pictures on my blog site for others to see.

2 thoughts on “DYI Zune Dock

  1. Lynette says:

    Your blog is very helpful and informative. Keep up the good work!

  2. zunetips says:

    Thanks, Lynette. I’m in the process of writing a posting to cover Tagging of video files, since that seems to be a big mystery topic. In the meantime, I’m constantly looking around the house for something that I can make my Zune dock out of!

Leave a Reply

