Having Too Much Fun with My PVR!

As you may have read from my previous postings, I’ve got the whole PVR thing worked out to perfection. Using Vista Media Center, DVRMSToolbox and the PVR-150 TV Tuner Card, I’ve got my home PC set up to record TV Shows and automatically convert them to WMV format for my Zune 80. I’ve got certain TV Shows scheduled for weekly recording (e.g., Lost, Jericho, New Amsterdam, Stargate: Atlantis, Stargate: SG1) so I’ll never miss a show again.

With DVRMSToolbox, I’ve got a profile setup with actions that will do the commercial cutting on the DVR-MS file and save it to a 2nd drive in my system as an archive. That way, I can always reprocess the video if I want higher resolution (for maybe my TV set). Unfortunately, I’ve noticed that my backup drive (111 GB) is nearly filled with DVR-MS files. Each file takes about 3 GB of space per 45 minutes of show, so after a few weeks of regular recording this secondary drive is filling up very fast! As such, I’ve decided to not save the DVR-MS files, and just keep the WMV files that are created.

I’ll have to reconsider what I want to save to my hard drive, as I’m thinking I might convert the high-resolution DVR-MS files to a more compact WMV format (with TV-resolution) and save those files as an archive.

I wonder what people do when they have dedicated PVRs set up as a multimedia entertainment system? It’s nice to have videos on the hard drive ready to play (without having to fumble with DVDs), but they can take up a lot of space even if you have a modest number of movies and TV Shows. I can only imagine that people must have 500 GB or 1 TB storage systems for all this data!

Leave a Reply

