Not much happening lately…

Sorry for not posting much over the last several days. There doesn’t seem to be much happening in the Zune area lately. I did however, come across a few web sites that offer full TV show episodes for viewing on their site. www.veoh.com and www.hulu.com seem to offer episodes of old TV shows as well as repeat episodes of current shows which you can watch from your web browser. For example, I came across an episode of New Amsterdam which I had missed one evening, so I could watch it in it’s entirety from hulu.com. Most of these videos are FLV files being played in the web browser, so I’m trying to find a way to download them for converting for my Zune. There are a lot of utilities that can do this, (like “Download Helper” for FireFox), but I can’t seem to find one that will successfully download a FLV file from either veoh.com or hulu.com. If you know of a solution for this, please let me know!

5 thoughts on “Not much happening lately…

  1. Ben says:

    Since its a slow day, maybe you can help me?

    Is there ANY way for the Zune desktop software to fetch a password-protected podcast?

    I’ve tried several different things, including putting the username and password into the podcast url like so;

    http://username:password@site/podcast.xml

    and it does not work

    The error msg is “cannot subscribe because access requires a username and password” and I can’t find ANYWHERE to enter a password, and it does not prompt.

    THANKS!

    -Ben

  2. zunetips says:

    Sorry, but I’m not aware of any way to subscribe to password protected podcasts using the Zune Software. Have you tried using something like this:

    rss://yourusername:password@podcast.rss

    The only other thing I can think of, is using a external RSS Feed program that runs in the background on your system, and downloads subscribed podcast files into your podcast sync folder for your Zune. The Zune Software should see these new podcast files and sync them to your Zune.

    When I have some time, I’ll look into this topic, as it may be interesting for people viewing my blog. If you find an answer before I do, can you please get back to me?

    Question: What specific podcast are you trying to download (so I can test it)?

  3. Brian says:

    Have you tried Orbit Downloader?
    http://www.orbitdownloader.com/features.htm

    I haven’t tried it with those sites, but I use it with YouTube, et. al.

  4. zunetips says:

    I haven’t tried that specific FLV file downloader, but I did try “DownloadHelper” for FireFox which seemed to grab just the Hulu.com intro FLV file, and not the main video.

  5. zunetips says:

    Success! Thanks to Brian’s tip (see above), I was able to download a FLV video from the http://www.veoh.com web site and convert it to the proper WMV format for my Zune 80. It took me several tries in finding the write tools and procedure, but I finally got it to work. Whew!

    I’ll write up a new page describing the process and will post it in the next few days.

Leave a Reply

