Although Stargate-SG1 was cancelled, the DVDs are still coming!

I stumbled on the Science Fiction show called Stargate-SG1 several years ago while flipping through the many channels we have on our cable TV system. This TV Show was based on the Feature movie called Stargate which starred Kurt Russell and James Spader that first premiered in 1994. I remember seeing the movie with a few buddies when I was in college, and I didn’t like it very much. It had a lot of action (military guys, machine guns, etc.) which was ok, but was based on egyptian pyramids, aliens, etc. A little too far fetched and complicated for me to understand and appreciate. Thus, I never paid much attention to the Stargate-SG1 TV show version (since most TV Shows based on movies aren’t very good) when it first came out in 1997 on the Showtime cable channel.

The TV show was moved from Showtime to the SciFi channel (with the rights bought by Parmount Pictures) after about the 2nd season which is where I stumbled upon it. After watching a few of the episodes from the first season I got hooked big time, as the stories were fresh and very entertaining. In fact, I asked my wife to get me the 1st and 2nd season DVD set so I could watch them over my Christmas break. And after hours of viewing the SG1 team visit new planets and battle the various galactic bad guys I began watching the show regularly on the SciFi channel.

After running for 10 seasons, the SciFi channel decided it was time to close up shop with the show. And rightly so, since most of the new episodes seemed to be reincarnations of the previous episodes from the earlier seasons (or duplicate stories from other SciFi shows). It was sad to see my favorite characters fade into TV reruns, but cancelling the show was the right thing to do. Even though Stargate-SG1 was gone, the spinoff show called Stargate-Atlantis was still on the air (currently in it’s 5th season).

Since the last episode of Stargate-SG1 didn’t wrap up show in a nice, bow-tied ending, MGM decided to create a direct-to-DVD movie for the Stargate fans. This DVD (called Stargate: Ark of Truth) was created and released to help conclude the show and wrap up some loose ends. I, of course, bought and watched the DVD and it was nice to see my favorite characters back again for another mission. The story wasn’t the greatest, as it seemed to be of the same quality and content as the final shows of the 10th episodes, but I was expecting that to be the case.

MGM also had in the works a 2nd DVD show called Stargate: Continuum, which was released several weeks ago. I finally got around to ordering it from Amazon.com, and was able to watch it last night. I have to say that the show was very entertaining (and a better episode than the 1st DVD movie), but the story seemed similar to the other previous episodes. Nevertheless, it was a good show and I highly recommend it for all the Stargate fans out there in TV land. Also, this DVD had a few extras including how they filmed part of the show in the Arctic and a Physicist’s explanation of the possibilities of time travel. Again, very entertaining for a Science Fiction fan.

BTW, for you Stargate Fans: I personally liked the Jonas Quinn character and would have liked to have seen him on more episodes (along with Daniel Jackson)! 🙂

Update: I’ve read that Stargate-Atlantis has been cancelled, so the current season will be it’s last. 😦 Apparently, they will be making DVD movies much like Stargate-SG1.

Leave a Reply

