Repairing your Broken Zune

Back in April 2008 I made a posting that talked about repairing your broken Zune after the original warranty expires. If you’re a DIY (do-it-yourself) kind of person, there wasn’t much available in parts for the newer Zune 4/8/80 GB models. Fortunately, there seems to be more available now with regards to such parts. The site called www.zuneparts.com has Zune 80 parts such as a replacement battery, LCD screen, screen cover, etc. available for you DIYers. They are somewhat pricey, but it may be a good alternative to buying a whole new Zune. The RapidRepair site also provides Zune 80 parts and has several guides to opening and repairing your Zune. If you’re not the DIY type, you can always send your Zune to RapidRepair and they will fix it for you (for a fee).

Since Lithium-Ion batteries don’t last forever, I can see myself replacing my Zune 80 battery in about a year or two. In that case, it might be worth the price of a battery to fix my Zune rather than buying a whole new device.

5 thoughts on “Repairing your Broken Zune

  1. V.P. says:

    I recently replaced my LCD screen on my Zune 30 ( sucessfully ), but my unit has become locked. What do I do to correct this problem?

  2. zunetips says:

    VP: I’m not sure… did you try a hard reset of your device? You also might try draining the battery, then do a full recharge to see if that helps.

  3. trish says:

    when you closed your zune, did you make sure the hold switch was in place correctly?

  4. stephen says:

    My 8 g zune will not turn on i have tried charging it for hours and nothing happens. I have already tried the reset so could some one please tell me what you think is wrong with it.

  5. zunetips says:

    stephen: So, your Zune 8 doesn’t seem to turn on at all? Not even for a moment? I’d make sure your sync cable is working properly, and you’re using a good USB port on your PC to charge up your Zune. You might try using a different USB Port (on the same PC or different PC) and maybe a friend’s sync cable.

    If you’re sure it isn’t a USB Port/Cable issue, then you should probably send the Zune in for repair if it’s still covered under the 1-year warranty.

Leave a Reply

