My favorite TV shows

tv_set

As you may have read from my previous postings, I use a TV Tuner card in my Desktop Vista PC in conjunction with Vista Media Center and DVRMSToolbox to record videos for my Zune 80. The combination of software will record regularly scheduled TV shows, remove all the commercials, and convert the raw video from DVR-MS format to WMV format for my Zune. All done automatically! Here’s my current list of favorite shows that I record and process:

  • Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles
  • Heroes
  • Life
  • Stargate: Atlantis
  • Monk
  • Fringe
  • Life on Mars

Monk is an oddball show that my two nieces got me hooked on earlier this year, and I’m now addicted to watching Adrian Monk solving weird crimes (“Natalie, wipe!”). The show 24 is coming back online after a long hiatus this Sunday, so I’ll have that one to record and enjoy soon!

3 thoughts on “My favorite TV shows

  1. Brian says:

    This is a great website! Thanks! I’m planning on buying a new mp3 player soon. My portable XM radio died and I think I’m ready to say good bye to sattelite radio.

    I’m debating between a Zune 120 and an Ipod Classic. This blog entry may have made up my mind for me! I’d love to be able to transfer recorded shows directly my portable. Do you know if this would be possible using Windows XP Media Center? Or is this a Vista-only thing?

  2. zunetips says:

    I’ve never used Windox XP Media Center, but I’m pretty sure it works in a similar fashion to my Vista Media Center. If it can record to a DVR-MS file (which is Microsoft’s version of the MPEG format), then you can use all the methods and tools that I mention in this web blog. I’ve never owned an iPod before, so I can’t personally make any comparisons with the Zunes. The reason why I bought a Zune, was the value for what I was looking for. I wanted something with a large screen that could hold lots of videos, and the Zune 80 won out in price over the iPod.

  3. homelessgirl says:

    This is a cool website nice to see something dfferent than the obsessive mac sites all though I’ll be honest I still love my ipod touch.

    And i also love Monk. very good tv show choices, though I feel heroes has been a bit down this season.

Leave a Reply

