December 31st, 2008: All Zune 30 devices have stopped working!

The big news for Zune 30 owners, is that as of today their Zunes have stopped working. Yes, that’s right. It seems that ALL Zune 30’s (with both the original and updated firmware) have a frozen screen on boot up. Here is Microsoft’s response found on the zune.net home page:

Customers with 30gb Zune devices may experience issues when booting their Zune hardware.  We’re aware of the problem and are working to correct it.  Sorry for the inconvenience, and thanks for your patience!

What a giant programming blunder! A nice New Years’ Eve present from Microsoft.

I’m sure Microsoft is scrambling now, and lots of Zune programmers are frantically fixing the problem and putting together a firmware update. Hopefully, these “bricked” Zunes CAN have their firmware updated in their current state. However, what if the solution cannot be administered to the Zune by consumers? What if the update needs to be done with special hardware or special tools that the consumer doesn’t have? Will Microsoft have a gigantic recall of Zunes 30s?

Of course, the online and printed news will soon have this information plastered across the world by tomorrow. That kind of press certainly won’t help with Zune sales.

I’m crossing my fingers that when I sync my Zune 80 (and my wife’s new Zune 8), I don’t see the dreaded frozen screen…

5 thoughts on “December 31st, 2008: All Zune 30 devices have stopped working!

  1. Sam says:

    my Zune 80 is working just fine, so should be no worries….

  2. zunetips says:

    I just checked, and my Zune is working properly after syncing with my desktop PC (whew!). I feel sorry for the original Zune 30 owners with their bricked Zunes. I would assume that it may take a few days for MS to get this issue fixed and have a patch made available. I wonder if MS will give these Zune owners something for their troubles (maybe a Zune Pass for a year?).

  3. Daniel says:

    First the RRoD then the BSoD and now all zune 30 are going dead at the same of the day only one thing could be going on SKY NET has taken over Microsoft.
    I don’t about you but I am going to my closest fallout shelter with a mac and an Ipod.

    The media is putting this out of context, Don’t forget this is the discontinued Zune 30s that there talking about and all I here is Microsoft sucks from the media.
    From the commuters on other blogs. Is thank god I got an Ipod for Xmas or I had my ipod for 3 years now. there are thinking it is just another Microsoft hardware failure like ROoD witch it looks like it is a software failure

  4. yipcanjo says:

    It’s a big time bummer, though I know that Microsoft will make good on it. Still, it’s a bit of “bad press” that the Zune team could really do without right now 😦

  5. AO says:

    I have a 30 and it is working fine today.

Leave a Reply

