Low Audio with TV Recordings

tv_setRecently, Comcast Cable sent out a letter stating that most of the premium cable channels would be moving to digital, as such I was required to use a digital Set Top Box (STB) with my PC Tuner card if I wanted to continue recording my favorite TV shows. You can read about how I made all this work at this blog posting.

One problem I noticed, is that the audio was really low with these new TV recordings. In fact, watching the TV shows “live” on my Desktop PC through the TV tuner card (and Vista Media Center) was also very low in volume. I finally realized that the STB remote control had a volume setting, so I turned up the volume on the STB which seemed to correct the problem. For some reason, I didn’t think the STB controlled the volume (as in most cases, it’s the TV’s amplifier that you adjust for sound loudness), but in this case the STB had some volume control.

So, if you’re in the same situation, try jacking up the volume on the STB to solve the low volume problem! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

