My Terminator Salvation Review

I saw Terminator Salvation yesterday, and I have to say it wasn’t as good as I expected. It was ok, but it didn’t seem to have the impact as the first two Terminator movies. The special effects was cool, but the story line was a bit slow and uninteresting. The Marcus character was cool, as he was an unknown to the viewers. Also, having Arnold as the Terminator appearing at the end of the movie was great (who needs real live actors any more?).

This movie basically “jumped the shark” for me, so I hope they don’t come out with any more installments unless they have a really, really good and original story.

4 thoughts on “My Terminator Salvation Review

  1. Adam K says:

    Oh man I agree with you completely. I just saw it tonight, and while I didn’t hate it, I just really wish it had spent more time cooking. The first two movies, with Linda Hamilton as Sarah Connor and James Cameron as director, were fun to watch and actually said something. These latter two (which–along with the the TV show–I don’t consider canon) have been generally disappointments.

    I compare it to the X-Men series: the third installment continued a story but wasn’t particularly well made, and the fourth (Wolverine and Salvation) expanded on cutaway elements that had already been explained in the best movies of the series (X-2 and T2). It’s sad because I actually wanted to see what would happen to these characters if Cameron’s vision were continued. Hopefully Jurassic Park 4 will have a better director than McG (*shudder*).

  2. AntiK says:

    I saw it too, although I walked in with incredibly low expectations. I had not seen or heard anything about T: Salvation except for billboards, so I didn’t know what to really expect. I was thinking it would be about as good as T3, or worse, and it wasn’t. Of all the installments, 3 is the worst.

    I guess what I am trying to say is that if you walked in with high expectations, it was bad. Walking in thinking it was going to be crap, I walked out rather pleased.

    Also, quick thought. When Marcus first meets Kyle Reese, in the destroyed city, the robot immediately opens fire on him relentlessly. Later, when Marcus goes to SkyNet, the same model robot looks at him again and registers it as being okay to pass through without opening fire. I would imagine that the earlier mentioned robot would have recognized him as being a skynet model and not open fire.
    ….Just saying…

  3. Steve says:

    “so I hope they don’t come out with any more installments unless they have a really, really good and original story.”

    Christian Bale is signed on for a trilogy, so prepare for two more.

  4. Nathan says:

    “Christian Bale is signed on for a trilogy, so prepare for two more.”

    *sigh*
    Christian Bale seems so unaccented as an actor at this point. He always plays his parts the same way.

    I’m more interested in James Cameron’s new movie, Avatar.

Leave a Reply

