It’s Zune HD Day!

zune_hdMy Zune HD shipped and is scheduled to be delivered TODAY, so I’m anxiously awaiting it’s arrival. It is coming via UPS, so most likey they’ll just drop if off at my doorstep if I or my wife aren’t home. Which bring up the big question: What’s the advantage of pre-ordering the Zune HD? If the Zune HD is to be available at several stores and distributors today, why not just go to Best Buy or Fry’s and buy it in-person? I really don’t believe the Zune HD will be such a hot commodity that it will sell out instantly or that there will be huge lines at retail stores. I remember stopping by the Apple store recently when they just released the new iPhone and there was a huge line just to get into the store. I don’t think the Zune HD will generate the same kind of response from customers.

Luckily, my wife was able to track the delivery and we know my Zune HD is in the next town waiting for the out-bound delivery truck to bring it to my house. After I get it, you can expect some early hands-on reports posted on this blog later today… so stay tuned!


Update: 6:10 pm and it finally arrived! Probably the last delivery on that damn UPS truck. Of course, the box it came in was ripped open at the bottom and there was very little packing material to protect the Zune box…. ugh. That’s what you get when you order from Amazon.com I suppose– you take your chances.

Update: 5:30 pm and still no Zune HD or UPS truck. My wife checked the UPS tracking for this delivery and it shows to be on the truck as of 6:15 am for delivery to my home.

ups_delivery

UPS states that home deliveries are made from 9 am to 7 pm, so there’s still hope. What if they screw up and don’t deliver the “Next Day Saver” delivery on the scheduled due date? Can I ask for a shipping refund? Probably not… UPS is the worst when it comes to on-time deliveries.

Update: It’s 3:30 pm and still no sign of UPS or my Zune HD. It should arrive today, but apparently UPS has screwed up the delivery (again). Hopefully, they didn’t deliver it to the wrong house! 😦 In hindsight, I should have simply bought the Zune HD from Best Buy, Fry’s, Walmart, or Target this morning. The whole pre-order thing didn’t have any real value in my opinion.

2 thoughts on “It’s Zune HD Day!

  1. Alphonzo says:

    I received my zune about the same time(6:30pm) so I know how you felt!

  2. zunetips says:

    Alphonzo: Yeah, I didn’t have a lot of faith in UPS delivering on time. But, it did arrive and I’ve been loving my Zune HD ever since. It did take some time getting use to the smaller screen (compared to my Zune 80), but everything is ok now!

    I also noticed my battery life is much better with the HD verses the 80.

Leave a Reply

