HD Radio is really cool!

zune_radioI’m really digging the HD radio on my Zune HD. I live in Seattle and there’s lots of HD radio stations in the area, so I’m a bit spoiled. What’s cool, is that a specific radio station can have more than one HD signal and can be playing different songs. The quality of the HD signal is amazing, with no hissing or static.

Note, that the radio won’t work if you don’t plug in your headphones since they are being used as the antenna.

zune_radio_hd

6 thoughts on “HD Radio is really cool!

  1. gregg says:

    can you e-mail me if you see my e-mail about the stations you’re getting?
    I’ve noticed a lot of stations from hdradio.com don’t play, I live in Auburn so i’m in your area

  2. zunetips says:

    gregg: In Seattle I can get these stations on my Zune HD:

    106.9 – KRWM (2 HD channels)
    102.5 – KZOK (2 HD channels)
    99.9 – KISW (2 HD channels)
    94.9 – KUOW (2 HD channels)
    88.5 – KPLU (2 HD channels)
    95.7 – KJR (2 HD channels)
    98.9 – KWJZ (3 HD channels)

    If you’re not able to get the HD version for these stations, it might be the headphones you are using. Try using the headphones that came with your Zune HD and see if that works better. The Zune HD will use the wire in the headphones as an antenna for receiving the HD stations, so if you’re using another 3rd-party set of earbuds that may be the reason why. I’m using my old Zune premium earbuds and they seem to work fine as an antenna.

  3. Robert says:

    I’m loving the shopping cart icon when listening to HD radio. I have tried this on my Zune HD and it is so freaking cool.

  4. zunetips says:

    I haven’t tried the shopping cart feature for the HD radio… do you need a ZunePass to make your purchases? Or, does it just flag the song for purchasing from your Zune Desktop Software?

  5. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, πŸ™‚

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  6. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

