Windows 7 Pre-Sale Pricing… False Advertising?

I noticed in the newspaper this morning that Fry’s Electronics is having a 1-day sale of Windows 7 Professional full version (pre-order) for $129.99 US. Since the full version retails for $299.99 US, this seems like a great deal. However, upon close inspection of the ad I noticed that this version is being called “OEM for System Builders” which made me a bit suspicious.  Since I normally build my own systems for my own personal use, you would think that this “system builders” label would apply… and it does, in a way.

After googling “OEM System Builders”, I learned that this particular version of the OS has a limitation where you can only install it on one computer. It is also tied to the motherboard of the computer so you can’t replace the motherboard at a future date and reinstall Windows 7. So you basically can only install it one specific computer and that’s it.  Since I often upgrade the motherboard on my main desktop system on a regular basis (for speed-up reasons or to replace a defective board), the OEM System’s Builder version wouldn’t work for me.

So just a friendly warning if you run across an ad like this in the newspaper or on http://www.newegg.com, etc.  I’m planning to wait until after Oct 22nd (official release date) and head down to my local Costco store to pick one up.

3 thoughts on “Windows 7 Pre-Sale Pricing… False Advertising?

  1. Robert Davis says:

    I’ll probaly do the same & might even wait untill the begining of 2010. I waited a few months after Vista was released & saved about $45. I bet after the holidays you’ll start seeing alot of deal’s on Windows 7.

  2. Robert Davis says:

    Not related but here’s a great travel case for your new Zune. At only $12.95 you have to get this case to protect your investment. My Marine nephew loves the one I got him.

  3. zunetips says:

    Robert: I didn’t think of after holiday sales… that’s a good idea. I will probably bite the bullet and get my main desktop PC upgraded when the OS is first released, and wait to upgrade my laptop and other computers. I live in Seattle, so I often do the “Usability Studies” at Microsoft in Redmond, WA where I can get free copies of the OS. One advantage of living so close to Microsoft’s headquarters.

Leave a Reply

