My Zune HD locked up last night…

restartAfter watching two videos on my Zune HD last night, I decided to delete them by doing a tap-n-hold on the video and selecting “Delete”. I’ve done this several times since getting my Zune HD (and I love this feature), but this time my Zune locked up after I deleted both video files. Actually, it didn’t freeze up but rather constantly rebooted itself. Even when I turned off the Zune, it rebooted over and over again.

So to resolve this, I needed to put my Zune HD into Recovery Mode by doing these steps:

  1. Hold down the top power button for about 10 seconds until the Zune reboots.
  2. Immediately hold down the media button (left top side) AND center menu button.

The device then shows a screen that says, “CONNECT ZUNE TO YOUR PC”. Once I do make the connection and start up the Zune software on the PC, the software begins to install the latest software on the Zune and I have to go through the setup process again.

So, it seems that something strange happened to my Zune HD when I deleted those movie files. So if you run into the same situation, check out this Microsoft Knowledge Base Page. Luckily, I was at home and could sync my Zune to my PC. Now if I was on a trip or business travel, I would have been screwed! 😦

Leave a Reply

