Windows Phone 7 as a Zune replacement?

I mentioned in my previous posting that an option for when your Zune stops working is to get a Windows Phone 7 smartphone and use it as your phone AND Zune device. From what I can tell, the WP7 has excellent integration with the Zune Software and you can easily sync music, podcasts, and videos to the phone. Since these new phones have large hi-res screens, it would be very similar to using a Zune HD device. From what I can tell battery life for a WP7 is about the same as for a Zune HD.

Now, the WP7 smartphones were just recently released so there’s only a few models available on the AT&T and T-Mobile networks. Also, they only come with 8GB of storage space (normally) so that isn’t much space for storing your music and videos on your phone. The Samsung Focus WP7 device does have a micro SD card slot where you can increase the storage from 8GB to 32GB, so that would be acceptable in my opinion.

Personally, I would strongly investigate switching to a WP7 device and use it as a replacement for my cell phone and Zune device. So long as I had sufficient storage space and Zune syncing capability, it would be nice to carry around just one single device.

The only bad thing, is that the WP7 devices are only available in the US on the AT&T and T-Mobile networks. So if you’re using Sprint, Verizon, or one of the other major cellular carriers you’re out of luck for now. However, Microsoft did say that the WP7 devices will be coming to Sprint and Verizon in early 2011 so it may not be too much longer before that option is available to more people.

Once Sprint releases some WP7 phones, I’ll definitely check them out and see how well they work as a phone and media player. And the good thing, is that Microsoft released an application that allows Apple Macs to sync music and videos with a WP7 device, so that won’t be a problem for me! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Windows Phone 7 as a Zune replacement?

  1. Just thought I’d leave a comment on your post…I currently have a Samsung Focus and it’s been stellar. The only quirk that I’ve run into so far in terms of it working with Zune and my pc is in order to have it plugged into usb for charging and listening to zune playlists at the same time, you have to go into the settings > applications > music + videos and turn off “Connect with Zune”.

    Would be great if they had a shortcut to do this either through the zune interface or an easier toggle to get to, but so far this thing has been great.

    Another drawback is the low availability of compatible SD cards. Right now there are a very small amount of SD cards that will work with the phone, as the others will actually cause OS issues. That is supposed to be remedied soon. I have half my music collection on the phone, and am only using up about 3GB out of the available 6GB.

  2. zunetips says:

    I’m glad you like your Samsung Focus. I do mobile apps development on the side, and I’m in the process now of creating an app for the WP7. I’m hoping that once the other carriers start to sell WP7 devices, WP7 will take off. I’m currently on Sprint, so I’m waiting for a Focus-like phone to be available on their network soon.

    My wife has an Android Epic smartphone, and I played around with it a bit. I thought the interface was a bit clunky when compared to the Apple iOS and Palm WebOS, so I wasn’t too impressed. However, there’s lots and lots of Android phones out there and very few WP7s currently. 2011 will be an interesting year for smartphones and tablets.

Leave a Reply

